President election 2017: Bihar lawmakers vote to elect 14th President

Patna, Voting began on Monday in the Bihar assembly here to elect the country’s 14th President to succeed incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee, whose term ends on July 25.  “Over a dozen legislators have cast their votes,” an official said.

There are 243 legislators in Bihar but one member of assembly will cast his vote in Dehradun.  Bihar’s ruling Grand Alliance of the Janata Dal-United, Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress is divided with JD-U supporting BJP-led NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind, while the RJD and Congress are supporting the combined opposition’s nominee Meira Kumar.

Opposition BJP and its allies in Bihar are voting for Kovind.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal