Officers who lost life in Andheri and Kalbadevi fire honoured

Mumbai: The Governor of Maharashtra Ch. Vidyasagar Rao on Wednesday presented the President’s Fire Service Medals for Gallantry (posthumous) to five officers of the Mumbai Fire Brigade who lost their lives in the Mumbai Fire Brigade Twenty-one other fire personnel were also decorated with the President’s Medals for gallantry and meritorious service.

Sunil Nesarikar, Chief Fire Officer, Sudhir Amin, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Sanjay Rane, Assistant Divisional Fire Officer and Mahendra Desai, Station Officer who lost their lives in the fire at Gokul Niwas in Kalbadevi and Nitin Ivalekar who lost his life in the fire at Lotus Business Park in Andheri were presented the medal posthumously.

Jayashri Sunil Nesarikar, Sharmila Sudhir Amin, Medha Sanjay Rane, Manasi Mahendra Desai and Shubhangi Nitin Ivalekar accepted the medals on behalf of the five officers. The President’s Fire Service Medals for Gallantry and Fire Service Medals for Gallantry and Meritorious Service were presented at an Investiture Ceremony held at Raj Bhavan, Mumbai on Wednesday (5th Dec).

Earlier, the Governor presented the Flag of the Maharashtra State Fire Service to the Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.
The Chief Minister handed over the flag to PS Rahangadale, Director of Maharashtra Fire Services.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal