Mumbai: 2 Shiv Sena corporators resign from civic body’s Standing Committee

Mumbai: Two senior corporators of the BMC from the ruling Shiv Sena — Mangesh Satamkar of Antop Hill and Ashish Chemburkar of Worli — resigned from the standing committee. they both have stated that they have been asked by Sena president Uddhav Thackeray to resign. Therefore, as per the party chief’s instructions, they have resigned.

According to political pundits, both were eligible for the post of the Standing Committee chairman in the second term since one year has been completed and its time to change the chief, a pattern adopted by the Sena.

However, as both corporators have resigned, party insiders reveal that Ramesh Koregaonkar, the present chairman’s tenure will be extended by another term. While two corporators will be replaced in the Standing Committee by senior poached MNS corporator Dilip Lande along with someone else. Meanwhile, the two resigned corporators are likely to become chairman of Education committee and chairman of the Brihanmumbai Electric Supply and Transport (BEST) committee.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal