IPL 2018: Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu equal Rohit Sharma’s record of four IPL wins; read how

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) made a remarkable comeback in the 11th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). CSK thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the most difficult final to lift the trophy for the third time. Chasing 179 in 20 overs, CSK opener Shane Watson struck 117 runs off 57 balls to help the team win their third title. And with the win, CSK become the second most successful team in the history after Mumbai Indians (MI) who also won the title thrice. MI achieved the feat in last edition by beating Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run. Interestingly, some of the players in the CSK squad is also lifting the trophy for the fourth time.

For those don’t know, Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma has won the IPL title record four times. Rohit first won the trophy with the Deccan Chargers in 2009. In the same season, Rohit also won the Emerging Player Award. In 2011, Mumbai shifted his base to Mumbai where he successfully led the side to the coveted trophy in 2013, 2015 and 2017. However, now he won’t be alone to this record. Here’s the list of players who have joined Rohit Sharma in the four-time IPL winner club:

Ambati Rayudu


Ambati Rayudu was very much impressive this season and it can touted as a breakthrough season for him. Rayudu scored 586 runs for winning side Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Rayudu, who primarily is a middle-order batsman, adjusted well in the role of the opener whenever his team needed. Earlier, in the league stage, Rayudu even scored an unbeaten century against the finalist Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Before signing for CSK, Rayudu played for Mumbai Indians with whom he won the title thrice in 2013, 2015 and 2017. And with the latest win for CSK, Rayudu has equalled the record of Rohit Sharma for the winning the title four times.

Harbhajan Singh


Harbhajan Singh is one of few players who have played for the same franchise for a decade. Bhajji played for Mumbai Indians for first 10 seasons and was part of the side in winning three IPL titles. This final for CSK was Bhajji’s fifth IPL final and fourth crown. In the history of IPL, Bhajji has grabbed 134 wickets and is fifth in the list of bowlers with most wickets. Similar to Rayudu, winning the tournament for the fourth time will be a good memory for Bhajji.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal