Indore: Gopi Krishna Nema is new BJP city president

Indore: Former MLA and senior leader Gopi Krishna Nema has been appointed as new president of BJP city unit on Friday whereas outgoing president Kailash Sharma has been given place in state working committee as special invitee.

Nema is a loyalist of external affair minister Sushma Swaraj. He was MLA from Indore constituency number 3. He was also president of State BJP Vyapari Prakosth. He also held other positions in the party. Ahead of assembly elections, there was resentment against Sharma in the party. So, BJP wanted someone who not only holds a good rapport with party workers but also have association with business community in the commercial capital of the state. Nema fitted the criteria.

For last one month, his name was doing the rounds. Lately, chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, state BJP chief Rakesh Singh and organisational general secretary Suhas Bhagat agreed on his name. For the first time, local working committee of the party was also constituted with the appointment of president.

While most of the names in the committee have been repeated, new names have also been added. The working committee comprises vice-presidents Kamal Waghela, Jayant Bheese, Jaideep Jain, Nanuram Kumawat, Abhishek Sharma, Harpreet Singh Sudan, Sumit Mishra, Sonu Rathore, general secretaries Mukesh Rajawat, Ganesh Goyal, Ghanshyam Sher, treasurer Gulab Thakur, secretary Golu Shukla, Sandeep Dube, Savita Patel, Veena Sharma, Savita Akhand, Shailja Mishra, Jaishree Jategaokar, Gyatri Godgde, office secretary Akhilesh Shah, joint office secretary Mukesh Mangal.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal