Independence Cup: Fourth succeesive title for the Navy

Mumbai : Defending champions Indian Navy extended the reign in the MDFA organised Independence Cup football tournament. The fitter and better organised Naval outfit were in class of their own as they underlined their supremacy by handing arch-rivals Western Railway a crushing 5-1 defeat in the final played at St. Xavier’s Ground, Parel on Tuesday afternoon. The sailors have won the coveted title for the fourth successive season and overall fifth in a six-year period.

Navy got their goals through P.M. Britto (9th min), Hari Krishna (17th), Benno (36th), Sarbjith Singh (39th) and an own goal by Raju Singh (40th) while Western Railway got the lone goal through Somi P.T. (22nd).

The sailors received the glittering Independence Cup and the cheque of Rs 25,000 from Chief Guest, Urmila Panchal, Municipal Councillor, while Western Railway was presented with the runners-up trophy and a cheque of Rs 15,000. Britto was named ‘Player of the Tournament’ and he received a cash award of Rs 5,000.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal