Double for Jagan Kumar in national motorcycle racing

Chennai : Defending champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing won a double in the Super Sport Indian class in the fourth round of MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at Sriperumbudur near here on Sunday.

Having won the first race in the premier Super Sport Indian (up to 165cc) category on Saturday, Kumar maintained his form with another flawless ride to win the second race and narrowed the gap with leader Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) to just one point.

The 50 points that he garnered this weekend, saw him jump two spots from fourth to second on the leaderboard, moving past team-mate Harry Sylvester (99) and Honda Ten10 Racing’s Mathana Kumar (109).

Finishing second behind Jagan were team-mates KY Ahamed and Kannan Subramaniam as the trio underlined TVS Racing’s dominance as the championship moves into the final round slated for September 29-October 1 at the same venue.

In the Pro-Stock (Up to 165cc) category, Hubballi’s Anish Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing) scored his maiden win of the season, ahead of championship leader and team-mate Aravind Balakrishnan and Moto-Rev’s Aravind Ganesh. The result saw Balakrishnan move to 126 points while Ganesh has 105.

Bengaluru’s 21-year old Aishwarya Pissay (Apex Racing Academy) had on Saturday clinched the title in the Girls category with a round to spare.

Aishwarya had finished second behind Chennai’s Alisha Abdullah in the eight-lap race with Kalyani Potekar from Indore third. However, following post-race scrutiny, Kalyani was disqualified on technical grounds along with her Speed Up Racing team-mate Ryhana Bee who had come in fifth.

The revised result of the race took Aishwarya’s points tally to 83 and 32 points clear of Kalyani in the championship standings with just one more race to be run and a maximum of 25 points available.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal