Govt transfers 73 IAS officers in one go

Mumbai : In a major reshuffle the State government transferred 73 bureaucrats late Wednesday night. This is the first time in past few years wherein so many officers have been transferred at one go.

Though revenue minister Eknath Khadse defended the decision terming the transfers ‘routine’, the bureaucratic circles were abuzz with much speculation. While a section said that those officials had differences with their political bosses have been transferred, another section said that the Chief Minister has shown his might and strengthened his grip over the administration. Yet another theory says that with the reshuffle clean and efficient officers have been brought to key posts in the administration.

All the top bosses from the finance department have been changed in this reshuffle. Sitaram Kunte has been transferred from the finance department to higher and technical education department.

Sudhirkumar Shrivastav, who had been with the finance department for a long time, has been transferred to the transport department; secretary in Chief Minister’s office Pravin Darade has been sent to the MMRDA as additional metropolitan commissioner and Satish Gawai who was sulking in the water resources department has been transferred to the environment department. From the environment department Malini Shankar has been transferred to the relief and rehabilitation department as additional chief secretary.

According to a government notification issued late last night, additional chief secretary D K Jain has been transferred to the finance department. Ujjwal Uke, who was in the social justice department, has been transferred as principal secretary (textile), co-operative, marketing and textile department. He has been replaced by S K Bagade. Mukesh Khullar has been transferred as the principal secretary (services) in general administration department (GAD), Mahesh Pathak as principal secretary, food and civil supplies, K H Govindraj as commissioner, Nashik, Upamanyu Chatterjee as principal secretary, Rest of Maharashtra Statutory Development Board.

Bhagwan Sahay, who has a postgraduate degree in Agriculture, has been transferred to the agriculture department while Vandana Krishna who holds a postgraduate degree in economics has been sent to the finance department. Eknath Dawle who effectively implemented Jalyukt Shivar Scheme in Nashik division has been transferred as secretary to the EGS and water conservation department.

All the officials are expected to take charge at the new postings in the month of May.

The transfers were made keeping in mind the demands of ministers, an official said, adding the conflict between them was resulting in inefficiency of work. The government is ready with another list of transfers involving at least 15-20 IAS officers in the next one week, the senior official said. The official added that a fresh batch of 11 IAS officers will also be given postings in various corporations.

Another official pointed at the appointments in CIDCO and the MMRDA and claimed that they have been made to expedite infrastructural development projects coming up in the MMR.

Tukaram Mundhe, who had proved his administrative skills while handling drought condition as collector of Solapur district, has been transferred as municipal commissioner of Navi Mumbai. Several politicians had complained against Mundhe, but the Chief Minister had backed him.

Ashwini Joshi who earned a reputation of strict officer as collector of Thane would now take over as collector of Mumbai City, while Deependrasingh Kushwah, collector of Nashik, would take over collector of Mumbai Suburbs. Mumbai Collector Shaila A. has been transferred to sales tax department, while collector for Mumbai Suburbs Shekhar Channe has been appointed as managing director of Film City.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal