Centre not to accord minority tag to Siddi community

New Delhi: The Centre does not propose to accord the minority tag to Siddi community of Gujarat, the Lok Sabha was informed today.

Minority Affairs minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said this in a written reply to a question in this connection.

There are six notified communities in the country, namely: Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains.

Jain community was the last to be declared as a minority community, in January, 2014.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal