Cathedral & John Connon triumph in Inter-School Chess C’ship

Mumbai : The star-studded senior boys team of Cathedral & John Connon High School, Fort were crowned champions winning the Boys Open Standard X category in the IIFL Wealth-Mumbai Inter-Schools Chess Championship, at G.D. Somani School, Cuffe Parade.

The event organized by the Academy of Chess Training (ACT) – SMCA & ICS was conducted under the aegis of Mumbai City District Chess Association (MCDCA).

The Cathedral school team comprising of 3-FIDE rated players; Rishab Shah, Shourya Jain, Himay Kapadia and Darsh Doshi won all of their six matches to finish with a tally of 12 match points and clinch the top honours by a handsome margin of 3-match points over their nearest rival.

Gurukul School, finished with nine points and had to be content with second place. Thakur Public School from Kandivali with six points bagged the third place.

Meanwhile, Don Bosco from Matunga annexed the top prize in the Boys Standard VIII category.

The Matunga schoolboys completed the matches with a total of 12 match points to emerge champions. Bombay Scottish (Mahim) claimed the Standard VI category title.

In the competition for juniors, B.D. Somani International and Hiranandani Foundation emerged victorious in the Standard IV and Standard II events respectively.

The prize distribution ceremony was presided over by Chief Guest, Honourable Anil Desai, MP (Rajya Sabha). He presented the Trophies and certificates to the children.

Final standings:

Standard X (Boys): 1. The Cathedral & John Connon (12 MP), 2. Gurukul The Day School (9 MP), 3. Thakur Public School (6 MP).

Standard VII Boys: 1. Don Bosco High School (12 MP), 2. M.K.V.V.I., Borivali (10 MP), 3. Sri Sri Ravishankar Vidyalaya (8 MP).

Standard VI: 1. Bombay Scottish, Mahim (10 MP), 2. Gopi Birla Memorial (10 MP), 3. M.K.V.V.I., Borivali (9 MP).

Standard IV: 1. B.D. Somani International (10 MP), 2. Bombay Scottish, Mahim (9 MP), 3. Vidya Niketan School ‘B’ (8 MP).

Standard II: Hiranandani Foundation School (12 MP), 2. Hill Spring International ‘A’ (9 MP), 3. Arya Vidya Mandir, Juhu (8 MP).

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal