Aurangabad bench of High Court will hear PIL against Sai Baba Trust

The PIL seeks directions to bar entry of politicians in the Management Committee of the temple trust

Mumbai: On the directions of the Bombay High Court on Wednesday, the Aurangabad bench of the HC will now hear the public interest litigation (PIL) which seeks directions to bar the entry of politicians in the Management Committee of the famous Shri Sai Baba Sansthan Trust.

Activist Surinder Arora had filed a PIL before the division bench of Justice Vidyasagar Kanade and Justice Mahesh Sonak.

On Wednesday, when the matter came up for hearing, the bench transferred the PIL to its Aurangabad bench since that bench (Aurangabad) has the jurisdiction to hear the same.

“Of the total 15 members, 12 members belong to some or the other political parties with some of them even having their criminal antecedents,” Arora stated in his petition.

In his petition, Arora also cited names of Shiv Sena MP Gajanan Kirtikar’s son Amol Kirtikar, Sena spokesperson Manisha Kayande and several others. The petition states that of the total 12 politicians in the Committee, 10 belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).The petition stated, “The number of members in the Managing Committee (BJP and Sena) shows the coalition and political convenience of the ruling party.” “Most of the BJP members are defectors from other parties being given this position as a welcome to the party,” the petition added.

According to the petitioner, “The members (politicians) of the Managing Committee were releasing the funds of the Sansthan for development of their constituencies or Zilla Parishad Circles or Panchayat Blocks. They were also using the vehicles and other facilities for their personal benefits and to influence and attract the voters in the constituencies.”

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal