355 to cast vote in presidential poll in Maharashtra assembly today

Mumbai: Maharashtra Vidhan Bhavan is fully prepared for the presidential poll on Monday. Altogether 355 voters comprising 288 legislators, 48 Lok Sabha and 19 Rajya Sabha members from the state will exercise their franchise. Out of them, the BJP-led NDA has 248 votes from 199 legislators and 49 MPs. The Congress-led UPA has 104 votes with 88 MLAs and 16 MPs.

Out of the 288 legislators, two members of NCP —  Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam — are currently lodged in jail. While Bhujbal has got the court’s permission to cast his vote in the presidential election, Kadam, however, has not been granted permission to exercise his franchise.

Sanjay D Kakde, Independent member of Rajya Sabha, has been allowed by EC to cast his ballot at the polling centre in Vidhan Bhavan. At the national level, the EC has permitted 14 Rajya Sabha MPs, 41 Lok Sabha MPs to vote in state legislative assemblies instead in Parliament. Prominent among those include Manohar Parrikar (Goa), Yogi Adityanath (Uttar Pradesh) and Uma Bharti (Uttar Pradesh).

Interestingly enough, 32 out of the 34 Lok Sabha members and 11 of 12 Rajya Sabha members of the TMC will be casting their ballots at the polling booth in Vidhan Sabha in Kolkata rather than in Parliament.

Similarly, EC has permitted five legislators to exercise their right to vote in Parliament and four legislators to vote in other state assemblies.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal