A Gala Ceremony of Archid Conference and Awards

Mumbai: The ‘archid’ Awards and Conference, 2019, initiated by Orlange Media Services carved a success story with its maiden initiative. The event has set a new benchmark with its very innovative format consisted of extremely thought provoking panel discussions and keynote address wherein some very illustrious names from architecture and interior designing fraternity shared their knowledge on some interesting curated topics in the conference. Later followed by a gala ceremony of felicitating top 20 architects and interior designers of Mumbai chosen by over 15k voters of industry professionals. Arguably, it was the first time ever that the winners were choose through an online voting process based on professional merit, innovation and application of industry’s best practices.

Just like the vibrant and very offbeat venue ‘18.99 The Latitude’, Lower Parel, Mumbai’s most lively and versatile community of architects and interior designers attended the event. A classic mix of experienced and young professionals shared the same ‘archid’ platform. Ar Prem Nath, Ar Conrad Gonsalves, Ar Kalhan Mattoo, Ar Mujib Ahmed, Ar Lalita Tharani, Ar Alpa Shikre, Ar Huzefa Rangwala and Ar Jasem Pirani of MuseLab, Dr JP Rao, Director, Shapoorji Pallonji and Ar Asumi Rawat, Ar Priyanka Mehra, Ar Anuradha Guglani, Ar Manish Dikshit, Ar Sanjay Porwal, Ar Rajan Goregaokar, Ar Alhad Gore, Ar Priyanka Wagh and many more stalwarts who made this maiden event a blockbuster story.

Chief Guest for the Conference veteran architect Prem Nath while addressing the audience in his inaugural said, “When an architect designs a building he uses his creative scale and trained as a visualiser but he has to combine his knowledge of building materials along with the technologies available with the colour, tone, texture. He not only has to be creative but also knowledgeable in terms of construction material and technologies.” Security will be a serious issue in all our future designs with sustainability and power supply needs to be addressed seriously”. He further added that, the new technology would probably change the way of professionals think. Since designers have already moved from drawing boards to CAD, the process of designing is changing with the times towards modular and customisation, improving efficiency versus the cost. “

Special Guest for the Awards night Mr Amit B Wadhwani, MD, Sai Estate Consultants said, “The real estate industry has lost track of curating and creating what end-users wish to buy. Many developers tend to build more and more units without realising the actual trend in demand hoping that it would sell.” Mr Wadhwani further said that there is a need for developers and investors to carefully plan a strategy to effectively run a profitable venture in real estate.”

Guest of honour, Ms Shweta Shalini, Bharatiya Janata Party Spokesperson, Advisor to Chief Minister of Maharashtra accoladed archid awards and conference with her generous compliments. She observed that many new faces are attending the event, which is very unlikely with most of the other architecture and design events across brands. She congratulated the team of Orlange Media Services Pvt Ltd for organising such an event, which recognises the young and aspiring talent and offering a wonderful platform. According to her, these are the aspiring Indian entrepreneurs will deliver the India of tomorrow. She expressed her pleasantness for being a part of this event as design is very close to her heart and feels that it is the future. The people part of the conference are not only designing the real estate but also are shaping up the aspirations of young India.

Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred upon veteran architect Ar Prem Nath. Ar Shashi Prabhu, Ar Brinda Somaya and Ar Sanjay Puri were announced in the Legends Category at the ‘archid awards’.

In alphabetical order, the winners of first ever Archid Awards as follows:

1. Ahmed Shaikh of Ahmed and Associates

2. Anish Motwani of Anish Motwani Associates

3. Annkur Khosla of Annkur Khosla Design Studio

4. Anuradha Guglani an Independent Architect from Goa

5. Ateet Vengurlekar of Blue Arch Interior & Architects

6. Ashiesh Shah of Ashiesh Shah Architecture + Design

7. Huzefa Rangwala and Jasem Pirani of Muse LAB

8. Kayzad Shroff of SHROFFLEóN

9. Kyle Pereira of Damian Corporate

10. Lalita Tharani of Collaborative Architecture

11. Minnie Bhatt of Minnie Bhatt Designs

12. Nupur Shah & Sahil Parikh of ‘We Design Studio’

13. Pankaj and Bhakti of Ornate Projects

14. Pritesh Meisheri of Prit Designer

15. Rajan and Sachin of GA Designs

16. Rupali and Satish Naik of A Design Studio

17. Sapna Gohil of ANJ Turnkey Solutions

18. Shweta Deshmukh of Shweta Deshmukh & Associates

19. Smit Bhagat & Rajvi Mehta of Team designer

20. Ar Sunil Patil of Sunil Patil & Associates

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal