Triangular tussle in Dhar
Triangular tussle in Dhar

Dhar Lok Sabha seat is set to witness close contest between Congress, BJP and tribal-backed Jai Adivasi Yuva Shakti this time. On Sunday, the tribal outfit Jai Adivasi Yuva Shakti (JAYS) declared candidates on the two Lok Sabha seats. Notably, Congress fielded Badnawar district panchayat member Dinesh Girwal while BJP declared Chattar Singh Darbar as its candidate from Dhar seat. JAYS has fielded Mahendra Kannoj from Dhar.

During assembly election, JAYS founder convener Dr Heeralal Alawa contested on Congress ticket from Manawar against then cabinet minister Ranjana Baghel and emerged victorious. But this time, neither Congress nor BJP gave importance to any of the party leaders. Upset with Congress and BJP, party leaders decided to enter the fray on their own. Party sources said though it is tough battle for Kannoj to emerge victorious as Congress has six assembly seats under its belt while BJP has two MLAs in Dhar parliamentary constituency.

State party president Antim Mujelde said decision was taken in screening committee meeting held on Sunday. “We are participating in election with a vision to uplift the last man of society be it from general, OBC, ST or SC. Our party will give proper representation to all sections of society,” Mujelde said. He alleged that party is contesting election because of CM Kamal Nath. He claimed that before the assembly election it was decided that party president Hiralal Alawa would be inducted in state cabinet and we will be their ally in LS polls. “But we have been let down. The promises have been broken,” he remarked.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal