BHOPAL : The decision to push back the time of the commencement of the Assembly sitting by half-an-hour (from 10.30 am to 11 am) was implemented from Monday. The decision has been taken in view of the ‘problems being faced by the MLAs in reaching the House at 10.30″.

However, it seems the change in timings has failed to solve the “problems”.

Despite the change, the MLAs did not reach the House on time.  Only 8 Ministers and 46 MLAs were present when the sitting commenced. Of them, 34 MLAs were of the BJP and 12 of the BJP.

The Rules Committee had proposed the change in timings, taking a cue from the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, which sit from 11 am.

  Amongst Ministers only Babulal Gaur, Narottam Mishra, Maya Singh, Vijay Shah, Gyan Singh, Umashankar Gupta, Deepak Joshi and Sharad Jain reached on time. MLAs continued to arrive till 11.30 am.

Umashankar Gupta said that he was finding it difficult to adjust to the new timings. Congress MLA Govind Singh too suggested a rollback to the old timings.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal