BHOPAL : At the meeting of the BJP state election committee here on Thursday, a name each for the three Vidhan Sabha constituencies where by-elections are to be held was almost finalised.

The members have agreed that Sanjay Pathak will contest from Vijayraghogarh, Pranay Pandey from Bahoriband and Manohar Chauhan from Agar subject to the final decision by the central election committee.

Only Sanjay Pathak’s name was discussed for Vijayraghogarh. Pathak had joined the BJP, quitting the Congress during the Lok Sabha polls.   He had resigned from the Vidhan Sabha.. There was no opposition to the fielding of the son of Bahoriband MLA Prabhat Pandey from the constituency. The bye-elections have been necessitated due to the death of Pandey. The names of former minister Ajay Bishnoi and Padma Shukla were also considered for this constituency but ultimately, the panel settled for Pranay Pande.  RSS-sponsored Manohar Chauhan’s name is emerged at the top among the probables for Agar seat. A teacher by profession, Chaudhary will resign his job to contest polls.

 The name of former MLA Gopal Parmar was also discussed for the seat. The BJP Mahila Morcha chief Lata Wankhede proposed the name of Sushma Arya.

After the meeting, state President Narendra Singh Tomar said that the names of claimants for tickets for all seats were discussed.

 He said that he would apprise the national party chief Amit Shah of the proceedings of the meeting, after which a final decision will be taken by the Central election panel.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal