(Photo by Sachin KUMAR / AFP)
(Photo by Sachin KUMAR / AFP)

Bhopal: As many as five MPs, out of 28 in Lok Sabha and eight from Rajya Sabha representing the state, have been inducted in the Union cabinet, constituted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Patel and Faggan Singh Kulaste amongst the Lok Sabha MPs while Thawarchand Gehlot and Dharmendra Pradhan amongst Rajya Sabha MPs have been inducted in the Cabinet. Tomar, Gehlot and Pradhan have been made Cabinet ministers while Patel has been made minister of state with independent charge and Kulaste as MoS. Tomar, Gehlot, Kulaste and Pradhan were part of the Modi cabinet earlier too. Patel is a new entry in the cabinet.

Earlier, Patel was Union minister of state for coal in the Vajpayee’s cabinet. Although, Pradhan belongs to Odisha but he represents MP in Rajya Sabha. Tomar has been minister of panchayat and rural development, mining, steel and parliamentary affairs in previous cabinet. Tomar may get an important portfolio this time too. Gehlot held charge of social justice department earlier. Tomar represents Gwalior- Chambal region, while Patel represents Bundelkhand, Kulaste represents Mahakaushal while Malwa is represented by Gehlot. Their inclusion in the cabinet has given representation to these regions.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal