Assembly polls losers eye Lok Sabha elections

Anup contender from Gwalior, Kusumaria from Khajuraho

BHOPAL: The ministers in the previous state government, who lost the recently held assembly elections, are now aspiring to contest Lok Sabha elections. As many as 10 ministers lost assembly elections this time and these ministers have started claiming for Lok Sabha election ticket.

Assembly polls losers eye Lok Sabha elections

Former minister Anup Mishra, who lost assembly elections from Bhitarwar, is now interested in contesting Lok Sabha elections from Gwalior seat. ashodhara Raje Scindia, an MP from Gwalior Lok Sabha seat, won the recently held assembly elections and has been appointed as minister in the state government.

This has come as a ray of hope for Mishra, who is keen to contest Lok Sabha elections from Gwalior. According to sources, Mishra has discussed the matter with state president Narendra Singh Tomar twice and he is busy in pursuing Central leaders of the party at Delhi.

On the other hand, former minister Ramkrishna Kusumaria, who lost assembly elections from Rajnagar seat, is putting his claim from Khajuraho seat. Kusumaria had been an MP from Khajuraho in the past and he now wants to contest Lok Sabha elections from this seat.

Kusumaria has started making favourable atmosphere in his support in this area and he has also expressed his wish before the party organisation leaders. Jagannath Singh, who lost assembly elections from Chitrangi, may claim to contest Lok Sabha elections from Shahdol. KL Agarwal, who lost state elections from Bamhori seat, could be fielded against Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna seat.

Bhupendra Singh and Rampal Singh, both lost assembly elections in 2008, but they were fielded by the BJP in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections. Bhupendra Singh had won Lok Sabha elections from Sagar.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal