Free Press Journal

Imran apologises to poll panel for voting in open



Islamabad : Pakistan’s Prime Minister-in-waiting Imran Khan on Friday tendered an unconditional written apology to the Election Commission for violating the secrecy of the ballot, removing the last possible hurdle in his swearing-in next week.

Pakistan’s Election Commission (EC), in a 3-1 vote, accepted the apology submitted by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairperson.

It also ordered the issuance of notification for his victory in Islamabad’s NA-53 constituency where he stamped the ballot paper publicly instead of going behind the voting screen.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) retired Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza disagreed with the EC’s Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa members, who were in favour of accepting the apology.

Khan’s counsel Babar Awan submitted the unconditional written apology before the commission on behalf of the PTI chief during the hearing held by a four-member bench headed by Raza as the EC had sought a signed apology from Khan for violating the electoral code of conduct.

Chief to take oath on August 18: PTI

Islamabad: Imran Khan will take the oath as Pakistan’s PM on August 18, a senior PTI leader said on Friday. Senator Faisal Javed also tweeted PTI led by Khan has invited Indian cricketers Kapil Dev, Navjot Singh Sidhu and Sunil Gavaskar to attend the oath taking ceremony of the cricketer-turned-politician.

“Imran to take oath as PM of Islamic Republic of Pakistan on the 18th Aug 2018 inshALLAH,” Javed tweeted.

Back To Top