Free Press Journal

Shardiya Navratri 2017: Significance, history, legend, calendar and all you need to know


Maa Durga

Navratri literally means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit, symbolises victory of positivity over negativity. During this nine-day festival, nine different manifestations of the Goddess is worshipped. The nine goddess are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. Each goddess has her governing planet, mantra, mount, and iconography. There are four Navratri in a year – Chaitra Navratri, Sharad Navratri, Magha Gupta Navratri and Ashadha Gupta Navratri. Out of which Sharad and Chaitra Navratri is celebrated widely. Sharad Navratri is celebrated in the month of Ashwin during Sharad Ritu and is also called as Maha Navratri. In 2017, the nine-day festival begins on September 21 and culminates on September 29. Dassara or Vijaya Dashmi will be celebrated on September 30.

There is a tradition followed especially in Maharashtra and Gujarat, where women adorn themselves with nine different colours allocated to each day of Navratri. Each day is ruled by one planet i.e. Navgraha and accordingly, the colours are assigned.

According to the legend in North India, Mahishasura, the mighty demon, worshipped Lord Shiva and got the power of eternity. As per the boon, he became immortal and soon he started killing innocent people on the Earth and decided to win all the three lokas. The gods approached Lord Shiva and asked him for help. To get rid of the demon, the Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva united their powers and gave birth to a divine female warrior, known as Goddess Durga.

When Mahishasura saw Goddess Durga he was mesmerised by her beauty. He approached her with the intention of marriage. Durga agreed but with a condition that ‘He has to win over her in a battle’. The battle continued for nine nights and at last, she beheaded Mahishasura. Since then these nine-nights are celebrated. 

Also read: Navratri 2017- When and which colour to wear during the 9-day festival


Date: September 21 (Thursday)
Day: Pratipada
Puja: Ghatasthapana, Chandra Darshan, Shailputri Puja
Colour: Yellow

Date: September 22 (Friday)
Day: Dwitiya
Puja: Brahmacharini Puja
Colour: Green

Date: September 23 (Saturday)
Day: Tritiya
Puja: Chandraghanta Puja
Colour: Gray

Date: September 24 (Sunday)
Day: Chaturthi
Puja: Kushmanda Puja
Colour: Orange

Date: September 25 (Monday)
Day: Panchami
Puja: Skanda Mata Puja
Colour: White

Date: September 26 (Tuesday)
Day: Shashthi
Puja: Katyayani Puja
Colour: Red

Date: September 27 (Wednesday)
Day: Saptami
Puja: Kalaratri Puja
Colour: Royal Blue

Date: September 28 (Thursday)
Day: Ashtami
Puja: Mahagauri Puja, Durga Ashtami, Saraswati Puja
Colour: Pink

Date: September 29 (Friday)
Day: Navami
Puja: Maha Navami
Colour: Purple