Free Press Journal

Winds of change blowing in Ghattia


In Tarana, Cong’s Rajendra Malviya polarises SC, Minority voters

Ujjain: Winds of change are blowing in Ghattia ( SC reserved) constituency of the district, where the Congress has refielded its sitting MLA Ramlal Malviya. BJP’s Satish Mavliya, the youngest candidate among other 58 candidates, who are testing their fate from seven constituencies, is posing stiff challenge against the Congress candidate.

In Tarana, another SC reserved constituency of the district, Indore’s Rajendra Malviya ( Congress) has reportedly taken a lead against the BJP candidate Anil Firojiya, who resides in Ujjain.

Both these SC reserved constituencies have sent the representatives of BJP or Congress to State Assembly during last three elections. These constituencies have sizeable amount of SC voters, particularly those belonging to Balai, Bairwa and Jatav communities.

Muslim community also enjoys a good say in Tarana constituency. Congress candidate Ramlal Malviya is contesting the election from Ghattia for the fourth consecutive time. He fought his maiden election in 1998 when he overpowered the BJP heavyweight Rameshwar Akhand, who is now the Mayor of Ujjain Municipal Corporation. Malviya lost to BJP’s Narayan Parmar in 2003 election, but emerged victorious in 2008 election by defeating BJP’s Prabhulal Jatva.

Malviya had secured 45,349, 52,090 and 46,430 votes during 2008, 2003 and 1998 elections, respectively. The lead in favour of winning candidates during these elections was 2133, 9313 and 8821 votes, respectively. There are 1,82,117 electorates in the constituency including 87,325 female voters.

Importantly, Malviya registered victory twice and lost once and he is now facing a tough fight. Eight candidates are in the fray including BSP’s Prof Savitri Bahan. When Ramlal Malviya, who belongs to Balai community, fought his maiden election, he was a fresh face and happened to be janpad panchayat member.

Now he is facing Satish Malviya, who also belongs to the same community and his father Nagulal Malviya happened to be the Ghattia MLA earlier. Both Malviyas are now concentrating on the Bairwa and Jatav voters. BJP candidate is hopeful that this time Balai community will support him in bulk while Congress candidate is eyeing on the Muslim voters and, thus, busy in hosting the election meetings of AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh and other Muslim leaders in the area.

Tarana is witnessing a keen tussle as candidates of the arch rival parties are outsiders.But, Congress’ Rajendra Malviya has reportedly taken a lead as masses have extended support to him as mark of sympathy after the demise of his father Radha Kishan Malviya, who was the State Congress Committee president and had also worked as a Union minister of state. Inputs suggest that Malviya has polarised the Balai, Jatav and Muslim voters.

BJP’s Anil Firojiya is canvassing hard in the area and hopeful that his political background and the works of the State government will help him registering the first victory.

His father Bhurelal Firojiya had represented two constituencies of Madhya Pradesh for four times in the Assembly while his sister Rekha Ratnakar represented Agar constituency in 2003. It is a famous saying about Bhuria family that they haven’t ever lost any election.

The outgoing MLA Rodmal Rathore, whom the BJP has denied ticket this time and who is campaigning at Alot constituency, registered victory in 2008 election with the margin of 12,025 votes against Congress’ Babulal Malviya.

This seat was also wrested by the BJP candidate Tarachand Goyal in 2003 election when he defeated Congress’ Babulal Malviya by the margin of 12,999 votes. Babulal Malviya had won 1998 election from Tarana by the margin of 2860 votes by defeating the BJP candidate Madhavprasad Shastri and became Minister of state. A significant factor which went against the Congress during last two elections was rebel candidates and presence of Jatav leader Bhanwar Singh Gangwar who secured sizeable number of votes.

Gangwar is now in jail. A total of eight candidates are in fray including BSP candidate Mohanlal Malviya. There are 1,58,903 voters in Tarana, including 75,736 female voters.

Back To Top