Free Press Journal

Ujjain: First SAPAKS convention decries reservation


Ujjain: The first regional convention of SAPAKS (Samanya Pichda Evam Alpsankhyak Varg Adhikari Karmchari Sanstha) was held at Jhalaria Math on Sunday. The people present in the convention took a pledge to strengthen their community by spreading awareness among people. In the convention, Central School student Akshat Nigam also spoke on financial differentiation among the general and reserved category, due to reservation.

Urban administration department additional secretary, Rajeev Sharma was the key speaker in the convention. He said it was high time that people stopped reacting to lies spread in the society in the name of caste and religion. “It is shameful that politics of country is confined around three percent of the vote bank. If the society remains divided into categories based on caste even in today’s world then the future was at risk,” he added.

The chief guest was State information commissioner Hiralal Trivedi. He said reservation in promotion was done by an act in year 2002. The demand for this kept continuing every year from 1999 to 2001, but the officers at that time did not implement it as they knew that it would divide the society. He further said the demarcation line made in 2002 would continue in future until reservation was cancelled.

Simhasth Fair Authority Chairman Diwakar Natu said the Government had no right to discriminate. Reservation was done in constitution for everybody’s betterment, he added. Sapaks regional president KS Tomar said the constitution had been amended many times due to reservation, the result of which could be seen now. Regional President PS Parihar said SAPAKS was an ideology, a pledge and a thought. He further said senselessness of State leaders had brought the community together again. Raksha Dubey said any movement in the world revolved around women. Even Lord Shiva was nothing without Goddess Shakti, she added.

SAPAKS regional secretary Rajeev Khatri, health department director KL Sahu, Ajay Jain, Abhishek Soni and Motilal Shrivastava also addressed the convention. The programme began with a lamp lighting ceremony by guests. The guests were welcomed by SAPAKS district president Arvind Singh Chandel. Welcome speech and guest introduction was given by Amitoj Bhargava. Smita Karajgaonkar conducted the programme and Ashok Dubey proposed the vote of thanks.