Free Press Journal
  • Delicate balance between the Union and the States

    The constitution of India laid out clearly in its seventh schedule which legislative and policy areas would be with the Centre and which would be with the States. There are three lists in the seventh schedule, called the Union list, the States list and the concurrent list. This demarcates not only the responsibilities but also their “powers”. Two more schedules were added (eleventh and twelfth) to the constitution after the 73rd and

Back To Top