Free Press Journal

WhatsApp new feature! Now, you can download deleted media files again

FOLLOW US:

In yet another function set up by WhatsApp, it has introduced a new feature to its Android version. This new feature joins other new features rolled out by the messaging platform owned by Facebook. The new features are aimed at offering an earlier and more intuitive experience to the users. According to WABetaInfo, the Android version of the app lets you re-download deleted media files.

The report further states that the version between the 2.18.106 and 2.18.110 updates has got the new feature, which will let you download deleted media from the servers. Previously, when you received an image, GIF, video, document or voice message sent on WhatsApp and deleted the file in the WhatsApp folder, then users couldn’t download it again, reported Gizbot.

This is not the case anymore as the app lets you download deleted media from its servers with the latest update. The report adds that this feature shows that WhatsApp stores the sent media in its servers. Basically, the WhatsApp servers will store the media files even after downloading them.


This was partially available earlier but was meant for the un-downloaded media files for 30 days. When you download the files, the same was deleted from the servers. Now, WhatsApp has modified this behaviour. When a media file is downloaded successfully, the app does not delete it from the server.

The report also adds and states that they were able to successfully download images and videos received a couple of months back on the version 2.18.113. When it comes to very old media files, it claims that they were not able to download images sent in August 2017 as the app asked them to request the sender to send the files again.

So, you can download a deleted file from the WhatsApp folder with the path sdcard/WhatsApp/ only if you have the message in the chat. If you are concerned about your privacy, that the media files will remain end-to-end encrypted even if these are stored on the servers. For now, this new feature is available only for the Android users and further tests are currently underway.