Free Press Journal

Rizvi College retains title


Mumbai : A dominant Rizvi College successfully defended their title for the second successive year as their rivals Thakur College conceded the match in their second innings, of the two-day final encounter of the 8th Late Saqib Rizvi Memorial Inter-Collegiate Rotating Trophy Cricket Tournament, organised by the Junior College’s Sports Association of Mumbai, under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) and sponsored by the Rizvi Education Society and played at the MCA Cricket Ground, BKC, Bandra.

Electing to bat first, Rizvi College were dismissed for 138 runs. Bhushan Talwadkar scored 34 runs in Rizvi’s first innings. Furquan Charoliya (5 for 31) and Suved Parkar (4 for 62) were Thakur College’s key bowlers who were responsible for picking up the wickets.

Later the Rizvi bowlers showed terrific form and bowled out the Thakur batsmen for a measly 66 runs to take a solid 72 runs first innings lead. Except for Ryan Kochupuralkar who managed to score 21 runs none of other Thakur batsmen were unable to get going.

Parth Rai (3 for 7), Atharva Ankolakar (3 for 10) and Vignesh Solanki (4 for 1) shared the wickets.

In the second innings, Rizvi completely dominated the rival bowling attack and with Aryan Bangar stroking a fine century knock of 116 (11×4, 6×6) and a half century effort from Harshit Janwadkar 66 (12×4, 1×6), they batted Thakur College out of the match.

Brief scores: Rizvi College (1st innings): 138 all out (Bhushan Talwadkar 34; Furquan Charoliya 5/31, Suved Parkar 4/62) and (2nd innings): 313 for 7 declared (Aryan Bangar 116, Harshit Janwadkar 66 (12×4, 1×6), Bhushan Talwadkar 44, Atharva Ankolakar 36 beat Thakur College (1st Innings): 66 all out (Ryan Kochupuralkar 21, Parth Rai 3/7, Atharva Ankolakar 3/10, Vignesh Solanki 4/1) and conceded the second innings.