Free Press Journal

NOTA, bar on convicts from contesting polls worry Cong, BJP leadership!


Ujjain: Congress and BJP are appeared to be in a ‘ fix’ over finalising the names of their candidates for 29 Assembly seats of Ujjain Division. The two recent important decisions, introduction of “ NOTA” ( None of the above) option in voting and barring of convicted persons from contesting elections, have increased the botheration of these parties.

Though, this historically and politically significant sub- region of the Malwa Region is considered to be the strong bastion of BJP, the Congress had recorded minor gain in the Assembly Elections- 2008 vis- à- vis Assembly Elections- 2003. It got only five seats in 2003 whereas its tally reached to 9 seats in 2008. BJP which secured 23 seats in 2003 could register victory on 19 seats during 2008 elections.

Other political parties or independent candidates showed thin presence in last two elections or in previous elections. With process for filing nomination papers approaching near ( November 1), both these parties have speeded- up scanning the names of their candidates.

However, looking to the bickering among the stake holders, lists of candidates may be announced by November 5. The Congress, which is planning to clean bold the BJP this time, seems worried over choosing its candidates ote as the response from the public domain with regard to NOTA and barring convicted persons from contesting the elections do not favour its poll prospects.

As far as the BJP is concerned, its leaders are quite concerned about the anti- incumbency factor against its sitting MLAs, including four ministers. Though the party leaders feel that the clout of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan would help getting third consecutive win, they have not yet decided whether to field the sitting MLAs and ministers again or to replace them with new faces. The party leaders have everything in their laptops like caste equations, profile of prosperous candidates, etc, but they are keenly watching the strategy of the Congress party.