Free Press Journal

Neel Roy sets 2 marks; Fr. Agnel’s supreme


MUMBAI : Neel Roy of Jamnabai Narsee won three gold with two new meet records while Fr. Agnel’s, Vashi bagged the boys and girls team championships, in the 40th Bombay YMCA Inter School & Jr. College Swimming Championship.

 India’s fastest in under-20 freestyle, 16-year-old Roy was the toast of the concluding day as he was the only swimmer in the meet to set new marks. He kicked off his campaign when he clocked 00:52.67 seconds in the boys under-17 100m freestyle that eclipsed Fr. Agnel’s Viraj Prabhu’s 2014 record of 00.54.09.

 Roy went on shatter the boys’ under-17 100m backstroke mark with a stunning 00:59.17 seconds that smashed arch-rival Mehlam Ghadialy’s 01:02.28 set last year. In the process, Ghadialy bettered the record with an impressive effort of 01:00.81. The unstoppable Roy ended a rewarding day when he added the 100m breaststroke gold.

 The other outstanding performers were Muskaan Patel of Dhirubhai Ambani International, Bandra who bagged five gold for the girls’ under-17 individual championship, boys’ under-13 individual champion Anshuman Jhingran of Fr. Agnel’s with four gold and a bronze and Ronak Sawant of Our Lady of Salvation, Dadar who earned three gold and a silver, for the boys under-11 individual honours.


Team Championship: Boys: 1. Fr. Agnel’s (56 pts), 2. Our Lady of Salvation, Dadar (34 pts).  Girls: 1. Fr. Agnel’s (62 points), 2. Dhirubhai Ambani Intl, Bandra (52 pts). Boys: U-17:  100m freestyle: 1. Neel Roy (Jamnabai Narsee) – 00:52.67 (NMR), 2. Heer Shah (SIES College) 00:57.09, 3. Mehlam Ghadialy (St. Mary’s Jr. College) 00:57.95.  100m backstroke: 1. Neel Roy – 00:59.17 (NMR), 2. Mehlam Ghadialy 01:.00.81 (BMR), 3. Heer Shah 01:03.68.  100m breaststroke: 1. Neel Roy, 2. Heer Shah, 3. Mehlam Ghadialy.  Boys: U-13:  100m freestyle: 1. Anshuman Jhingran (Fr. Agnel’s), 2. Manav Gupta (St. Sebastian HS), 3. Meet Makhija (AVM, Bandra).  100m breaststroke: 1. Anshuman Jhingran, 2. Ashwin Jaiswar (Adarsh English), 3. Meet Makhija.  100m butterfly: 1. Anshuman Jhingran, 2. Manav Gupta, 3. Aditya Shah (Jankidevi).

200m Ind. Medley: 1. Anshuman Jhingram, 2. Aditya Shah, 3. Meet Makhija.

Boys: U-11: 50m freestyle: 1. Ronak Sawant (Our Lady of Salvation, Dadar), 2. Rishabh Das (Fr. Agnel’s), 3. Priyansh Jain (Jamnabai Narsee).

50m breaststroke: 1. Ronak Sawant, 2. Yohaan Jaffer (Oberoi Intl), 3. Pushkar Shivtare (Fr. Agnel’s).  50m butterfly: 1. Ronak Sawant, 2. Rishabh Das, 3. Priyansh Jain.

Back To Top