Free Press Journal

MS Dhoni’s latest revelation over Leeds ODI proves he is very much ‘on the ball’

FOLLOW US:

Photo credit: Sony Liv

While many people were assuming about MS Dhoni’s retirement after he took the ball from umpire at the end of the third ODI against England, Dhoni has cleared the confusion and the happy news is that there no retirement plans for the Indian cricketer. Dhoni said that he took the ball from the umpire to use it for the preparation of ICC World Cup 2019 which is going to be held in England.

“Since we will be playing the World Cup in England, we must know what we have to do to get the reverse swing going,” Dhoni was quoted as saying by ICC-cricket.com. “The opposition is getting it, so we should also get it at some point or the other. That’s why I did that,” he further said.

Dhoni also said that he took the ball and gave it to the bowling coach as that it can be useful to study the swings of the ball. “After 50 overs, the ball is useless to the ICC, so I requested the umpire for the ball and gave it to our bowling coach and said we need to work on it so that we can get a bit of reverse swing going. That will help the fast bowlers get those yorkers or wickets towards close or after the 40-over mark. That will help us restrict the opposition in the last 10 overs,” he further said.


The whole incident happened during the 3rd ODI between India and England. During the end of the match at Headingley cricket ground in Leeds, Dhoni took the ball from the umpire. Watching this, many people thought that he is going to retire from the International cricket. The match was won by England by 8 wickets and also won the three-match ODI series 2-1.

Back To Top