Free Press Journal

Mihika tames Abinika to lift Under-16 crown


Mihika in actionMihika in action

Mumbai: Third seed Mihika Yadav of Maharashtra in grand fashion crowned herself in glory by claiming the girl’s Under-16 singles crown in the Babolat 8th Ramesh Desai National Championship for boys’ and girls’ under-16 and Under-12, being organised by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA).

The Maharashtrian lass Mihika showed great character and with a disciplined performance outwitted the top seed Abinika R. of Tamil Nadu cruising to a comfortable 6-2, 6-4 win in the final played at the MSLTA courts, Cooperage Road.

However, there was no such joy for Maharashtra’s Rian Pandole whose superb run came to came to an end at the hands of Punjab’s Paramveer Bajwa. Rian was unable to produce the same kind of sparkle and fighting qualities which he had displayed in the previous rounds and during his National Series triumph last week here in Mumbai, against the second-seed Paramveer and went down rather tamely, losing at 3-6, 1-6.

Meanwhile, Sarah Dev another player from Punjab did her state more proud by grabbing the top honours in the girl’s under-12 singles category. The top-seeded Punjabi girl, Sarah, lived up to her billing as she easily defeated Bhakti Parwani of Gujarat 6-0, 6-1 to clinch the top prize.

The boy’s Under-12 final was a long drawn affair with seventh seed Terrence Das of Tamil Nadu fighting back from the loss of the first set to overcome Adarsh Naga Tippabhatla of Andhra Pradesh by posting a 6-7(2), 6-4, 6-1 victory.

Final results:

Girls’ U-16 singles: 3-Mihika Yadav (MH) bt 1-Abinikka R. (TN) 6-2, 6-4.

Boys’ U-16 singles: 2-Paramveer Singh Bajwa (PB) bt Rian Pandole (MH) 6-3, 6-1.

Girls’ U-12 singles: 1-Sarah Dev (PB) bt Bhakti Parwani (GJ) 6-0, 6-1.

Boys’ U-12 singles: 7-Terrance Das (TN) bt Adarsh Naga Tippabhatla (AP) 6-7(2), 6-4, 6-1.

Girs’ U-12 doubles: 1-Mubashira Anjum Shaik (AP)/Fatima Juveria (A) bt 3-Richa Dadasaheb (MH)/Rachna Reddy S (AP) 6-3, 6-3.

Boys’ U-12 doubles: 4-Arjun Sriram (KA)/Sandesh Kantimahanti (KA) bt Denim Yadav (MP)/Aryaan Bhatia (MH) 7-5, 6-4.

Girs’ U-16 doubles: 2-Nandini Sharma (PB)/Aarushi Kakkar (CH) bt Sabhyata Nihalani (DL)/Jennifer Luikham (HR) 5-7, 7-6(2), 10-6.

Boys’ U-16 doubles: 4-Yash Yadav (MP)/Shrey Gupta (HR) bt 2-Sanil Jagtiani (WB)/Ishaque Eqbal (WB) 6-4, 6-4.