Free Press Journal

Maharashtra wins Wheelchair Basketball Championship


New Delhi: Maharashtra beat Punjab to win the 2015 National Wheelchair Basketball Championship.  The winning team received the trophy from Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment Thaawar Chand Gehlot on Sunday.

The competition, which opened on the eve of the International Day of People with Disabilities and lasted from December 2-6, featured nine states: Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Delhi, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

The semi-final and final matches were played on Sunday. Tamil Nadu beat Delhi to clinch the third spot.

Gehlot applauded the players’ spirited display and inner strength.

“The Indian government as well as state governments will give all support to the players for the development of this sport in the country. I assure that we will provide opportunities to each one of you and fully equip you so that you can further develop your game,” he said.

The secnd edition of the Wheelchair Basketball Championship was organised by the International Committee of the Red Cross, Wheelchair Basketball Federation of India and the Sports Authority of India.