Free Press Journal

IPL: Delhi win toss, opt to bowl against Gujarat


New Delhi: Delhi Daredevils won the toss and opted to bowl first in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match against Gujarat Lions at the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium here on Wednesday.

“We decided after our first game that we will chase whenever possible,” Delhi skipper Zaheer Khan said.

“We are just going with the trend,” he added.

The Daredevils have brought Shahbaz Nadeem and Rishabh Pant into the playing XI in place of Mohammed Shami and Shreyas Iyer.

For Gujarat, James Faulkner and Ishan Kishan have replaced the injured Aaron Finch and Shadab Jakati.

“There was a bit of dew when we trained last evening, so we have to bat well,” Gujarat captain Suresh Raina said.

The teams:

Gujarat Lions: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina (captain), Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, James Faulkner, Praveen Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pravin Tambe.

Delhi Daredevils: Quinton de Kock, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, James Duminy, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan (captain), Shahbaz Nadeem, Imran Tahir.