Free Press Journal

IPL 2018 Final: FPJ’s Dream XI for Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad


It is the day all IPL fans were waiting, it’s toughest final day. 2-time title holder Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are set to lock horns against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Both, CSK and SRH, banking on their strong batting and bowling line-up will leave no stone unturned to win the coveted title. Both the teams had earlier faced each other in the qualifier 1 in which CSK held onto their nerves to win the tie against SRH by wickets courtesy of a fine knock from Faf de Plessis.

If CSK manages to win the title, it will be a historic victory for the side. It will be CSK’s third IPL title and will equal to Mumbai Indians’ (MI) trophy titles. MI too won three IPL titles. At present, CSK has the strongest batting and bowling line-up. The bowling department is led by Deepak Chahar, who has been impressive this season.

Here is the probable Dream XI for the Super Kings:

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Harbhajan Singh, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur

On the other hand, in the last few days, SRH batting line-up has failed miserably. However, it is their bowling which was impressive. When batsman failed, it was their bowlers who came to their rescue especially, Afghan spinner Rashid Khan. SRH batting is led by Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson. In the last few matches, Dhawan failed to provide a good start but skipper Kane Williamson led from the front and came to the team’s rescue.

At present, Kane Williamson is the leading run-scorer this season and has the ‘Orange Cap’ with him. However, it is their middle order which is what they need to take care of. Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan hasn’t contributed when needed. It is their bowling line-up which they are most dependent on.

Here we see the probable dream XI for Sunrisers:

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan,  Shreevats Goswami, Kane Williamson,  Deepak Hooda, Carlos Brathwaite, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma