Free Press Journal

India vs England: Complete schedule, fixtures, venues, dates for 2018 tour


The England Cricket Board on Tuesday confirmed that Team India will be touring the country for three match T20I series that will be followed by a three-match ODI series and will be concluded with a five-match Test series. India too had hosted England schedule in the 2016-17, with the only difference being that it started with the Test series and was followed by the ODI and T20I series.

The two teams will play three T20I, starting July 3 at Old Trafford, followed by three One-day Internationals and then the five Tests at the Edgbaston, the Lord’s, Trent Bridge, the Rose Bowl and The Oval.

The last time India won a Test series in England was nearly 10 years ago in 2007. India, led by Rahul Dravid at the time, won the second Test, courtesy a nine-wicket haul by Zaheer Khan and strong performances by Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar and Wasim Jaffer with the bat. It was in the third Test that Anil Kumble scored the only century of his Test career. India toured England in 2014 after under MS Dhoni for a five-match Test series. The first match was a draw while the second was famously won by India, the first time in 28 years that they had managed to do so at Lord’s. But India lost the rest of the matches and the series 3-1.

Here is the full schedule:

July 3, Tue; 1st IT20, Old Trafford, Manchester

July 6, Fri; 2nd IT20, SSE SWALEC, Cardiff

July 8, Sun; 3rd IT20, The Brightside Ground, Bristol

July 12, Thu; 1st ODI, Trent Bridge, Nottinghamshire

July 14, Sat; 2nd ODI, Lord’s

July 17, Tue; 3rd ODI, Headingley, Leeds

August 1, Wed – August 5, Sun; 1st Test, Edgbaston, Birmingham

August 9, Thur – August 13, Mon; 2nd Test, Lord’s

August 18, Sat – August 22, Wed; 3rd Test, Trent Bridge

August 30, Thur – September 3, Mon; 4th Test, Ageas Bowl

September 7, Fri – September 11, Mon; 5th Test, Kia Oval