Free Press Journal

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Rohit, Kohli too good as India thump Bangladesh, enter final


Man of the match Rohit Sharma smashed an unbeaten 123 while skipper Virat Kohli remained unbeaten on 96 as India beat Bangladesh by nine wickets at Edgbaston to reach the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 final, where they will take on arch-rivals Pakistan again.

Earlier, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah claimed two wickets each to restrict Bangladesh to 264 for 7. Tamim Iqbal top scored with 70 and Mushfiqur Rahim made 61, but rest of the batsmen could not stand up to the Indian attack.

India won the toss and opted to field against Bangladesh in the second semifinal of the Champions Trophy here today. India picked the same team that played in their previous game against South Africa while Bangladesh too did not make any changes from the eleven that played against New Zealand.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Rubel Hossain, Taskin
Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

Pitch and conditions

The pitch for the semi-final has not been used recently; unless it changes drastically over the game, these sides should not have any real preference for batting or bowling first. The weather seems to have finally settled in Birmingham, and we shouldn’t have any interruptions.