Free Press Journal

Clean sweep for Bagan ruling group


Mohuin Bagan players carry injured Syed Rahim Nabi, who was hit by a stone hurled by an East Bengal fan.

Kolkata: The ruling group of Mohun Bagan registered a comprehensive win in the elections even as former footballer Satyajit Chatterjee became the only new face by defeating another ex player Subrata Bhattacharya in a fiercely contested fight for the post of football secretary.

Chatterjee, who won comfortably by 1701 votes, will thus replace Uttam Saha for the post of football secretary while Anjan Mitra, Srinjoy Bose and Debashish Dutta will continue to function as general secretary, assistant general secretary and finance secretary respectively.

Also a former coach, Chatterjee said his first target would be to take the team out of the slump and win the I-League. “It’s a great feeling to become an administrator now. The main thing now would be to win the next two home games to remain in the hunt,” an elated Chatterjee told PTI.

Having slipped to second place in the I-League table after two successive away losses, Mohun Bagan face Royal Wahingdoh on May 20, followed by matches against Sporting Clube de Goa (May 23) and Bengaluru FC (May 31). There were 9135 eligible voters, of which 5112 cast their votes in the elections held last evening.

Mitra defeated Balaram Chowdhury by 2,424 votes, while Bose and Dutta won against their respective rivals by 2602 and 2232 margins for a clean sweep by the ruling group.