Free Press Journal

50 shuttlers up for auction at badminton league on Monday


New Delhi: A list of 50 shuttlers will be up for auction for the Premier Badminton League (PBL) here on Monday, the organisers announced on Sunday.

The Mumbai Rockets franchise was taken up by Devyani Leisures Pvt. Ltd., Chennai Smashers was picked by the Wones Pvt. Ltd.,and Bengaluru Top Guns will be owned by BrandPrix Consulting Pvt. Ltd.

Agile Security Force Pvt. Ltd. will be the owner of Hyderabad Hunters.

The League had earlier announced the Lucknow franchise (Awadh Warriors) and the Delhi team (Delhi Acers) are owned by Sahara India and Infinite Computer Solutions, respectively.

The upcoming league will start on January 2, 2016. The top four franchises in the league will enter the semi-finals. The final will be played here on January 17.

“I welcome all franchisees on board the Premier Badminton League. I am sure they with us will make the upcoming edition a huge success and a name to reckon with,” Badminton Association of India president and PBL chairman Akhilesh Das Gupta said in a statement.

“Tomorrow is a big day for each franchisee as each is gearing up for the all important auction. I wish all of them good luck and hope we all together create a successful Premier Badminton League 2016.”