Free Press Journal

Tata Literature Live to honour Amitav Ghosh with Lifetime Achievement Award



The list of inspirational English writers is incomplete without Amitav Ghosh. The author is widely popular for his acclaimed work and has been felicitated with several awards. Now, Tata Literature Live will honour the author with Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to the Indian literary space.

The award will be presented to the author on November 20 at National Centre of the Performing Arts (NCPA), Nariman Point.

Ghosh feels deeply honoured to receive the award. He says, “It is a privilege to be included in a list of such distinguished honorees.” His works have been translated in more than 20 languages. Besides he has also worked as jury for various international film festivals.

Also Read: Polish up your skills with these workshops at Tata LitFest

In 2007, Ghosh has been felicitated with Padma Shri award by the Government of India for his contribution to Indian literature. From his popular Ibis Trilogy –Sea of Poppies (2008) was awarded with Crossword Book Prize and shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize; River of Smoke (2011) was shortlisted for Man Asia Literary Prize. While other appreciated books include The Circle of Reason (1986) – France’s Prix Medicis Etranger, The Shadow Lines (1988) won Sahitya Akademi Award and the Ananda Puraskar, The Calcutta Chromosome (1996) won Arthur C Clarke award in 1997 for best Science fiction, The Glass Palace (2000) won the International e-book award at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2001 and The Hungry Tide (2004) was awarded India’s Crossword Book Prize. His other acclaimed works include In an Antique Land (1993), Dancing in Camboda and At Large in Burma (1998) and The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable (2016).

Anil Dharker, Founder and Director, Literature Live!, says, “We are very excited to announce Ghosh as this year’s recipient of the Tata Literature Live! Lifetime Achievement Award. His immense contribution to literature is well-known and recognised far and wide. We are looking forward to having him with us and hearing his riveting thoughts at the festival.”

In the past, the festival has honoured lifetime achievement awards to writers like Kiran Nagarkar (2015), MT Vasudevan Nair (2014), Khushwant Singh (2013), VS Naipaul (2012) and Mahasweta Devi (2011).

Also Read: Check out the most entertaining picks of Tata LitFest 2016

Taking the initiative forward, the festival has introduced three new awards –the Big Little Book Awards for Author, Illustrator in the Literature-for-children category and the Sultan Padamsee Award for Playwriting.

The seventh edition of Tata Literature Live will kick start from November 17 to 20, 2016 at two venues NCPA, Nariman Point and Prithvi Theatre, Juhu.