Free Press Journal

Mumbai: 5 MBMC corporators from Congress, NCP, MNS join Shiv Sena


Corporators being welcomed into the party by Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray

Mira-Bhayandar: As the municipal elections draw closer, the ‘Ayaram, Gayaram’ (political turncoats) season is back with a bang in Mira-Bhayandar.

Five sitting corporators in the Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation (MBMC) – two each from the Congress-NCP and the lone elected representative from the MNS abandoned their respective parties and jumped into the Shiv Sena bandwagon in the presence of party president Uddhav Thackeray on Sunday.

Also Read: MBMC gets Bombay High Court nod to collect tax from mobile tower companies

Those who have switched their loyalties include Dinesh Nalawade, Raju Vetoskar ( both Congress), Anita Patil, Vandana Vikas Patil (both NCP) and Arvind Thakur (MNS).

All have been reportedly given an assurance from Sena of a ticket for the civic polls, which are scheduled to be held in August this year. The trend of defections is likely to intensify once the demarcations of wards take shape.

Also Read: ‘Mahila Raj’ again in MBMC

The process was on for the formation and reservation of municipal wards for the civic polls, officials said. Several current and former corporators along with other senior functionaries are preparing to shift their allegiance to other parties before elections. As ruling parties BJP and Shiv Sena have emerged as potentially strong parties, several corporators have already started making a beeline for them, sources said.