Free Press Journal

Campaign ends for first phase of ZP, panchayat samiti polls


Mumbai: Campaign for the first phase of elections to 15 zilla parishads (ZP) and 165 panchayat samitis ended today.

The voting for the first phase will take place on February 16.

There are 4,278 candidates in fray for 855 ZP seats while 7,693 candidates for 1,712 panchayat samiti seats.

The second phase polling to 11 ZP and 118 panchayat samitis will held on February 21.

The 15 districts going to polls in the first phase are Ahmednagar, Aurangabad, Beed, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Hingoli, Jalgaon, Jalna, Latur, Nanded, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Wardha and Yavatmal.