Free Press Journal

Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017 Live Updates: District Wise Results, Candidates winners list


The war of thrones is finally set to conclude and with the date set for 11 March, Uttar Pradesh will get their new Chief Minister. Being the fifth largest and the most populous state of the country, Uttar Pradesh (UP) contributes the major share in the total Lok Sabha seats. UP is always considered as the political hub in India, as it has given as many as five Prime Ministers to the country.

Presently Samajwadi Party’s, Akhilesh Yadav is the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. Uttar Pradesh has the largest number of members in the Indian parliament and so the election results in UP often decides the fate of the government at the center.  It is a triangular contest all the way. The ruling Samajwadi Party forged an alliance with the Congress and entered into a seat sharing arrangement with it.

The Congress party had earlier declared Sheila Dixit as its chief ministerial candidate and then withdrew after it sealed the alliance with the Congress. The chief ministerial candidate of Samajwadi Party is incumbent Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav and that of Bahujan Samaj Party is Mayawati. the BJP is yet to declare its own. Opinion polls have been divided on the poll outcome so far.

UP Election Results 2017
PartySeats Leading( % )