Free Press Journal

Ujjain: Vikram University stages youth fest after a decade


Ujjain: A three-day state level varsity youth festival organised by Vikram University (VU) on behalf of higher education department, Madhya Pradesh government was inaugurated on Thursday at the main administrative building of the university.

At the inauguration chief guest energy minister Paraschandra Jain said that Swami Vivekananda had clearly stated years back that the twenty-first century would belong to India, and we needed to follow the path shown by him. There is immense potential in the younger generation and youth festivals foster the talent and skills of youth, he said.

Special invitee MP Chintamani Malviya said education contributed in personality development and quality enhancement and youth festivals played an important role in the development of capabilities. Presiding over the programme, vice-chancellor Sheel Sindhu Pandey said in order to refine talent, youth should participate in events like the Yuva Utsav. They should try and give their best to creative activities and there is a need to encourage the youth in every field, he added.

Special guest of the programme was higher education additional chief secretary B Rajagopal Naidu. Student union president Lakshya Malviya also expressed his views. The guests also unveiled the inaugural plates of the newly built microbiology department and the first floor of the computer science department. The land worship plate of the examination and confidential department building was also done. During the three days, students will participate in 22 different competitions.

Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, Indore, vice-chancellor Narendra Dhakad, Chitrakoot Gramoday University vice-chancellor NP Gautam, principals, teachers, dignitaries and others were present at the inauguration ceremony. The guests were honoured by registrar Parikshit Singh, Organising Committee president HP Singh and dean students’ welfare Rakesh Dhand with a shawl and memento. The Vedic ‘mangalacharan’ was done by Mahendra Pandya and team. Rubel Verma conducted the programme and Shailendra Kumar Sharma proposed the vote of thanks.