Free Press Journal



New Delhi : Just not unnerved by an inevitable collapse of the no-trust motion in the Lok Sabha, the Opposition on Saturday set its course to oust PM Modi in the 2019 elections, declaring the launch of the nationwide “Remove BJP, Save Nation” (BJP Hatao, Desh Bachao) campaign from August 15.

The particular date was chosen for Independence from Modi misrule, declared West Bengal CM and Trinamul Congress chief Mamata Banerjee in Kolkata, with Congress President Rahul Gandhi, TDP chief and Andhra CM Chandrababu Naidu and other in the loop.

The campaign will culminate in a mega rally of all opposition parties in Kolkata”s Brigade Parade Ground on January 19, she declared and disclosed that she was working in tandem with other parties to select the Lok Sabha seats all over the country for the “one-to-one” fight against the BJP.

Endorsing her plan, Rahul Gandhi on Saturday said he has shown the mirror of love and compassion to Modi and has given the country a new political discourse that can bind it together.

Chandrababu Naidu, who was in Delhi, launched the most scathing attack on the Prime Minister, his former ally, calling him “petty” for pitching him against Telangana Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao and late Congress chief minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy in his speech in the Lok Sabha and not replying properly to Andhra people’s aspirations. Naidu said he is destined to play a role in national politics, pointing out that he had created the United Front and he is capable of bringing all parties once again under one banner.

Former BJP MP Chandan Mitra, 4 Cong MLAs join TMC

Kolkata: Former Rajya Sabha member of the BJP, Chandan Mitra, and four Congress MLAs in the West Bengal Assembly joined the ruling TMC in presence of CM Mamata Banerjee. The Congress MLAs who joined the TMC are Samar Mukherjee, Abu Taher, Sabina Yasmin and Akhruzzman. Mitra had resigned from the BJP a few days ago. All of them joined the TMC at its annual Martyrs’ Day rally in Kolkata.