Free Press Journal

Loksabha stars lose sheen in Assembly segments


Bhopal: Top leaders, who registered wins with huge margin in Lok Sabha polls, seem to have lost their sheen in their Assembly segments. Whether it is Congress state president Kamal Nath, MP Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union minister Sushma Swaraj or BJP state president Rakesh Singh, their parties could not win all Assembly seats in their constituencies.

Nath won the Lok Sabha elections from Chhindwara nine times. He has always won with significant margin of votes. Despite the Modiwave in 2014, Nath won by more than 1 lakh votes. The BJP in the past assembly polls, won four Assembly seats out of 7 seats that come under Nath’s constituency. Not only this, the BJP won 6 out of 7 seats in 2003 assembly polls. Scindia, who has won Lok Sabha elections from Guna four times, has the same story.

In 2013 Assembly polls, the Congress won 6 seats from Scindia’s Lok Sabha constituency, which were the highest. Congress got one seat in 2008 while 2 seats in 2003 from Scindia’sLok Sabha constituency. In comparison to Congress stalwarts, the performance of BJP leaders has been better. Union minister Sushma Swaraj has been an MP from Vidisha. She succeeded Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan. In the previous assembly polls, Congress managed to win 2 seats from Vidisha despite immense support to the BJP. Congress in 2008 and 2003 won one seat and did not let the BJP get a clean sweep.

Congress managed to win one seat each in 2003 and 2013 elections from Jabalpur where BJP state president Rakesh Singh, has been an MP for three terms. Congress won 2 seats in 2008. It is found that these stalwarts, when it comes to Lok Sabha elections, maintain lead on all assembly seats of their constituency but their impact fades in assembly polls. Political analysts maintained that several factors worked during elections. They said the Scindia factor works in Guna constituency. People in Shivpuri vote for Scindia in Lok Sabha elections but they vote for his aunt Yashodhara Raje Scindia, who contests Assembly polls from Guna from BJP. Chhindwara, a constituency of Nath, also has the same story. Nath gets votes for Lok Sabha but when it comes to Assembly polls,


Back To Top