Free Press Journal

Indore: Four deans nominated in DAVV apex body 


Indore: Raj Bhawan has nominated four more members in the executive council of Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya (DAVV) taking the figure to 18 in the 22-member body. “Chancellor Anandiben Patel on Tuesday nominated four more members in dean’s category in the EC,” said vice-chancellor Dr Narendra Dhakad.

Dean of faculty of engineering sciences Prof Vijay Babu Gupta, dean of faculty of commerce Prof Purushottam Gautam, dean of faculty of life sciences Prof K Hajela and dean of faculty of medical Prof RK Mathur have been nominated in the executive council. They will remain EC members till their deanship ends. While deanship of Gautam expires on August 7, 2018, Gupta will be dean till February 16, 2019. Hajela and Mathur will remain dean till March 13 and July 28, 2019, respectively.

These newly nominated deans will participate in the executive council meeting to be held on Wednesday. As per rules, the EC should have 22 members. But it was running with nine members including two academicians, vice-chancellor Dr Narendra Dhakad, and KN Chaturvedi, representative of higher education department.

The remaining six members are nominees of the Chancellor and are non-academicians. Besides, one is representative of state finance department secretary. As per norms, the EC of DAVV should consist of four members each from dean and principal’s categories, two from professor’s category, and three from the university senate, six members nominated by the chancellor as his representatives and two members nominated by the state government as its representatives.

The Chancellor has filled both the seats of professor’s category and three posts of principal’s category in the beginning of this month. And now, she has filled all four seats in deans’ positions. Now, three positions of the university senate and one position in principal’s category are lying vacant.  According to Dhakad, the process for constituting the senate will be held shortly.

Back To Top