Free Press Journal

Two nominations cancelled in Assam, 52 still in fray


Guwahati: Nominations of two candidates were rejected today during scrutiny of papers of 54 contenders for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in Assam in five parliamentary constituencies.

The constituencies going to polls on April 7 are Tezpur, where 11 candidates had filed their nominations, Kaliabor with 13 candidates, Jorhat and Dibrugarh with 8 each and Lakhimpur with 14 aspirants.

“The nomination of Diten Saikia of AAP for Tezpur seat has been cancelled due to incomplete form. He did not fill up the section for political affiliation. He even did not fill it up properly to contest as an independent,” Sonitpur DC cum Returning Officer Lalit Gogoi told PTI.

With his cancellation of papers, 10 candidates now remain in the contest, he added.

Similarly in Dibrugarh, the candidature of Aam Aadmi Party’s Tapan Sutbanshi was also rejected, the Election Officer of the district Biswajit Phukan said.

Election Commission officials in Jorhat, Lakhimpur and Kaliabor said all the nominations of the respective constituencies were found to valid.

Last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 24.

Among the prominent candidates who have filed their nominations include the two Union ministers from the state — Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh and Ranee Narah from Lakhimpur seats.

Controversial former Congress MP Moni Kumar Subba also filed his papers as an independent from Tezpur after being rejected a ticket by the party.
BJP state unit President Sarbananda Sonowal is contesting from Lakhimpur, while sitting Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) MP from Tezpur Joseph Toppo and former AGP MP Arun Sarmah will contest from Kaliabor seats.

Other prominent candidates whose fate will be decided in the first phase are Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi’s son Gaurav Gogoi from Kaliabor, and former Union Minister B K Handique who is making a bid to retain the Jorhat seat for the seventh consecutive term.

Former legislator and ULFA leader Jiten Gogoi and sitting MLA from Bihpuria Bhupen Kumar Borah will fight for the Tezpur seat as an independent and Congress member respectively.

Filing of nominations for second phase of polls, scheduled on April 12 for the three constituencies of Karimganj (SC), Silchar and Autonomous District (ST), have also begun from March 19 and the last date for the same is March 26.