Free Press Journal

Rajasthan govt to change names of four more villages


JAIPUR: The Rajasthan government will change the names of four more villages after three Hindu-dominated villages were earlier renamed, officials said on Friday.

Informed sources said the state government has proposed to change the names of 27 villages in the state, however the Centre has permitted the change of only seven names as of now.

The three villages whose names have been changed are: Miyon Ka Bada in Barmer has become Mahesh Nagar, Islampur in Jhunjhunu will now be called Pichanva Khurd and Salemabad in Ajmer has been renamed as Shri Nimbark Teerth, reports IANS.

There were complaints from these villages that people hesitate to marry their children due to the Muslim names, informed sources said.

The other four villages whose names will be changed are Mohammadpur in Chittaurgarh as Medikh Kheda, Navabpura in Chittaurgarh as Nai Sarthal, Rampura-Ajampur in Chittaurgarh as Sitaramji Kheda and Mandfiya in Chhitaurgarh as Sanwaliyaji.

Back To Top