Free Press Journal

Rajasthan BJP to launch ‘Ek Vote Ek Note’ campaign on Feb 11


Jaipur: BJP in Rajasthan today announced to launch the “Ek Vote Ek Note” campaign for collecting voluntary contributions from public ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The party workers will collect donations from the people from February 11 to February 28 to meet the election expenses for the victory of its prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, in-charge of party affairs in Rajasthan Kaptan Singh Solanki said.

“We will seek both vote and note (contribution) from the people of the state for realising the mission of making Narendra Modi the Prime Minister. Our workers will go door to door,” he told a press conference at a resort near here.

Such campaign was initiated first in Kerala where the party collected about Rs 15 crore. He, however, said that no target was set by the party in the state.

The decision was taken today in a one-day strategy meet where the party leadership chalked out a series of programmes to be undertaken ahead of the Lok Sabha polls.

“The party has also decided to carry out Suraj Rath Yatra in all the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies from February 10 to March 30. Two Raths (special vehicles with party banners etc.) will be allotted to each constituency in which our leaders will go and hold public meetings,” he said.

He said a survey on three names from each constituency will be conducted for seeking public opinion before announcing the names of candidates for the elections.

“We will discuss with workers and select three names for each constituency. A survey will be conducted to seek public opinion to determine  of these candidates,” he said.

For this, Solanki said a three-day meeting would be held from February 19 to 21 in which party workers will give the names and the survey would be conducted, preferably through some agency, by March 30.

On a question whether the party feels any challenge from the emerging Aam Admi Party, Solanki said the party has no challenge in the state. “We are going to win all 25 seats, so there is no issue of challenge from anyone,” he said.

In today’s meeting, party’s state president and Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and about 400 leaders including MLAs were present.