Free Press Journal

PCI announces winners of 2015 excellence in journalism awards


New Delhi: The Press Council of India (PCI) has announced the winners of its national awards for excellence in journalism for 2015. Press Trust of India (PTI)’s Shahbaz Khan was selected for the award for photo-journalism in ‘single news picture’ category, while Tashi of ‘Indian Express’ bagged the honour in the ‘photo feature’ category.

Sharad Vyas of ‘Mid Day’ won in the ‘investigative journalism’ category. Vinoy Mathew of ‘Matrubhumi’ and Sujit Chakraborty of Indo-Asian News Service (IANS) were named joint winners in the ‘developmental reporting and rural journalism’ category. CR Sasikumar of ‘Indian Express’ won in the category of ‘best newspapers art covering cartoons, caricatures and illustrations’.

President Pranab Mukherjee will hand out the awards on the occasion of National Press Day on November 16. The awards were finalised by a jury comprising PCI convener Ravindra Kumar and members Uttam Chandra Sharma, SN Sinha, Prakash Dubey, Rajeev Ranjan Nag and Dr Suman Gupta and cartoonist Sudhir Tailang.