Free Press Journal

Over 75 per cent polling in Tripura till 4pm


Mizoram voting

Agartala: Over 75 per cent voters had cast their votes till 4pm in East Tripura (ST) constituency, election officials said.

Eleven EVMs malfunctioned during the poll process which was replaced immediately, they said.

The constituency had witnessed an average of 83 per cent voter turnout in the last Lok Sabha elections.

Incidentally, the West Tripura Lok Sabha seat alone saw 86.2 per cent turnout including postal ballot during the first phase of polling last Monday (April 7).

Police said no untoward incident was recorded from any part of the constituency where security personnel were deployed.

There are 12 candidates in the fray including CPI(M)’s Jitendra Chowdhury, who is the state industries minister, Congress’ Sachitra Debbarma, an educationist, BJP’s Parkshit Debbarma, an ex-Armyman, and Trinamool Congress leader Bhriguram Reang.

The CPI(M) had won the seat 11 out of 15 times between 1952 and 2009 and consecutively since 1996.

Tagged with: