Free Press Journal

Modi to inaugurate 103rd Indian Science Congress in Mysore


Narendra modi

Mysore – Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the five-day 103rd Indian Science Congress (ISC) in Mysore, Karnataka, on Sunday.

The theme of the ISC this year is “Science and Technology for Indigenous Development in India”.

Modi will also present 28 awards, including six gold medals to Nobel Laureates, ISCA Best Oral Presenter, ISCA Best Poster, ISCA Young Scientists, C. V. Raman Birth Centenary Award at the event, which is being held at University of Mysore.

Science and Technology and Earth Sciences Minister Dr. Harsh Vardhan will unveil the Indian Science Congress Mega Expo “Pride of India-Frontier Science and Technologies”.

This Pride of India exhibition is open to the general public on all the five days. Cultural events will be held in the evenings from 7 p.m. to 8.30 p.m. from January 3.

The Pride of India Expo is spread over an area of 15000 square meters and over 180 organisations are participating in it.
The Prime Minister will also visit the Hall of Pride (HoP), which is dedicated to eminent scientists and technologists who have contributed immensely towards the progress and welfare of the nation. This year, the hall will be dedicated to former president Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam.

Genes is one day symposium that will bring scientists, industrialists, academicians and policy makers on a common platform to exchange ideas and explore collaborative opportunities.
Vijyan Jyoti or the flame of knowledge is a novel initiative of MM Active to introduce pure science as a career choice amongst the youth and encourage them to opt for this career.

The 5th Women’s Science Congress will be inaugurated by HRD Minster Smriti Zubin Irani at the Crawford Hall on January 4.

The 9th Science Communicators Meet will focus on the theme “Science and Technology for Indigenous Development in India”. This meet will have three sessions and will be inaugurated by Nobel Laureate Prof. Dass Shecthman on January 4 at 3 p.m.

100 eminent scientists and 400 senior scientists are delivering  30 plenary talks on subjects like nano science, space science, technology and applications, diabetes, evolution: the frontiers, atomic energy, safe water and sanitation, diseases and drug development, public-private  partnership for the swachh bharat mission initiative.

Bharat Ratna Prof C.N.R. Rao will deliver the Bharat Ratna Sir M Visvesvaraya Lecture on ‘Doing Science in India,’

Noble Laureates Prof Arthur B. McDonald, USA, Prof. Dan Schetman, Israel, Sir John Gurdan, UK, Prof Serge Haroche, France, Prof. David J Gross, USA and Fields Medalist Prof. Manjul Bhargava will be the speakers on January 3 at a special panel discussion on the topic Science and Technology: Present and Future.

The Indian Science Congress is being hosted in Karnataka after 13 years and in Mysuru after 34 years.

The preparations are in full swing as the whole of Manasagangotri campus is geared up to receive nearly 15,000 delegates from all over the country and abroad.

The Governor of Karnataka,.Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala, the Chief Minister of Karnataka, Siddaramiah and other dignitaries from central and state government will also participate in the inaugural session.